Vermont's Boundaries and Political Divisions

boundary : the lines that designate the area within themselves as distinct in some way.

grant/charter : the document that created a new town, city, or other place.

annexed :
when a political entity is made part of another political entity.  In this case small towns were made part of larger towns.

gores :
are political organizations of very mountainous parts of the state and have little or no population. They were called gores because they were often triangular in shape, being small, "leftover" pieces of land.

political division :
the different levels at which Vermont's State government is organized, including, counties, towns, gores, and other places.  

county sear or shire town : 
the town where the county courthouse, the jail, and other important buildings are located.

unorganized town/
township : towns that at one time had a local government and provided services to the people living there, just like other towns in Vermont.

village :
this political division is an organized section of a town which has its own government within the town. They provide services like police, a fire department, and others.

urban compact :
similar to villages, but they are not chartered as such by the state.

locality :
small clusters of houses or village crossroads are often named on the map of the state, but are not known as Vermont's major villages or cities.